Wagner, Prokofiev and Rachmaninov


Wagner, Prokofiev and Rachmaninov

Elisabeth Murdoch Hall
Melbourne Recital Centre

31 Sturt Street

Booking not required

See more events from

Faculty of Fine Arts and Music

See the University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra perform three seminal and powerful works from Wagner, Prokofiev and Rachmaninov this August.

The concert opens with with the Prelude and Liebestod from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde, which contains some of the most moving orchestral passages ever written.

Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.2, performed by MCM student Kevin Chow, is one of the most virtuosic concertos in the piano canon.

The concert closes with Rachmaninov’s Symphony No.2 – whilst perhaps less bold in its thematic and tonal innovation, it remains one of his finest works.

All Performances