• Ee5ph8venbhu9wb1ed7y

    Laureate Professor Marshall Lightowlers


2015 Presidents prize, International Association of Echinococcosis

2012 ʻ10 of the Best’ Award, National Health and Medical Research Council, Australia

2012 Presidents Prize, Australian Veterinary Association

2011 Laureate Professorship, Melbourne University

1998 Bancroft-Mackerras Medal, Australian Society for Parasitology

Elected positions

Secretary, Australian Society for Parasitology, 1990/91

Council Member, Australian Society for Parasitology 1991-1994

President, Australian Society for Parasitology, 1995-6

Fellow, Australian Society for Parasitology 2004

Scientific Contributions and Research Funding

Member of the research team which developed the world’s first defined antigen vaccine against a parasitic disease (Nature, 338:585, 1989); recognised as a Milestone in the History of Parasitology (Cox, Parasitology Today 9: 347-8; 1993; Maizels, Immunological Reviews 171:125, 1999).

Development of highly effective vaccines against other taeniid cestode parasites, including E. granulosus (Parasite Immunology, 18:457, 1996), E. multilocularis (Infection and Immunity 70: 3969, 2002), T. taeniaeformis (Molecular and Biochemical Parasitology, 44:43, 1991), T. saginata (Experimental Parasitology, 84:330, 1996) and T. solium (Infection and Immunity 72: 5292, 2004).

Co-inventor on internationally-granted patents for vaccine-related technology (US patents 5348740, 5348740, 5192538, 5366728, 5599672, 5618542). Two vaccines registered internationally and in commercial production.

Supervision of 23 successfully completed PhD research studentships.

Authorship of 230 internationally-refereed publications.

Recipient of more than $25M research funding, including from the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council, Wellcome Trust and Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Continuous competitive medical research funding support 1989 -2019.

Invited and sponsored to present plenary or symposium lectures on 95 occasions at international and national scientific congresses, including on 26 occasions in the last 5 years.