Respighi, Greenbaum and Shostakovich


Respighi, Greenbaum and Shostakovich

Hamer Hall
The Arts Centre

100 St Kilda Rd

See more events from

Faculty of VCA and MCM

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra performs a triptych of symphonic works, with each Composer having drawn on very different sources of inspiration for their musical canvases. The concert opens with Respighi’s Pines of Rome, an enduring musical homage to the Eternal City. The premiere of Stuart Greenbaum’s Symphony No.3 ‘Supernova’ responds to Ross Baglin’s poem on the age of the known universe, and by extension the limits of our knowledge and existence. The concert concludes with Shostakovich’s evocative 10th symphony; written shortly after Stalin’s death, it portrays life under the Russian dictator - echoing the terror and volatility experienced by many during his brutal reign.

Conductor: Richard Davis

Tickets available from 28 August

All Performances